I got married five months ago, and although I sold most of my wedding decorations, I couldn’t bare parting with all of them.

Materials:
Drill press or hand drill
Twine
2 screws
2 Sawtooth hangers
1 Mason jar
Spray paint
Branches, flowers, or filler
A piece of wood
Wood stain
Rock/hammer

I started with an already-painted and twined mason jar, but that step is easy enough. I spray painted the mason jar with a matte white spray paint and hot glued the twine around the middle.

The twine around the top of the jar comes in during the assembly of this piece, so don’t put that on yet.

I purchased the mason jar filler from Hobby Lobby, but you can put whatever makes your heart happy in there.

Make sure you wear hearing protection during this next step!

The wood is a piece of pine from Menards that I broke both sides off of to give it a more rustic look. And then I beat it up with a hammer and a rock. Yes, you read that correctly. Pine is soft enough that it dents easily, and I like how the stain seeps darkly into the dents, making it look weathered.

img_0169

I then stained the wood with a dark walnut stain.

You are supposed to wait and let the stain dry, but patience isn’t my strong suit. Scott (the ever-so-patient husband) is convinced I need at least five projects going at a time, so I can be distracted by one while the other is drying, etc.

So I instantly moved on to the next step: drill two screws in where you want the mason jar to rest (as seen above, I painted the screws white). Then determine where the top of the mason jar is and drill two holes through the wood right behind the top of the jar.

Wrap a piece of twine around the top of the jar and through the two holes you just drilled. Tie in a knot on the back side. This will provide more stability for the mason jar.

And the last step: attach two sawtooth picture hangers on the top of the back side. I purchased 100 of these off of Amazon, but they can be found at most any store (Hobby Lobby, Menards, etc.).

Enjoy, and please comment with any questions you have!